What feminism means to me

In line with the title of this blog and my self-referral of being a bespectacled feminist, I decided this would be an interesting thing to write about.

Feminism, as a movement, of course has its priorities. Equality, intersectionality, giving a voice to the marginalised and listening to different stories are all elements of feminism that are crucial to the movement. However, I think feminism also has the potential to be very personal and can mean different things to different people. This post is therefore about what feminism means to me as a cishet white woman and how you can be a part of the movement from a place of such privilege.

For me, feminism is all about the intersectionality, not the white experience. Feminism needs to be made up of all different voices and experiences so that the movement can be sure to include everyone and promote equality in places where it may not be so easy. Although I am a white woman and it would and could probably be said that some of my feminism is very white, I try to ensure that I don’t hype up my own experience in a way that cancels out the voices of those who are more oppressed than I.

Feminism is also for me largely about fighting internalised misogyny, almost conducting a feminist march within yourself and abolishing those thoughts that betray your otherwise progressive self. I saw a thing on the internet once saying that your initial thoughts about someone or something are the thoughts you’ve been preconditioned to have, and your second thoughts are your own, stemming from your own education and experience. Every day I fight away the initial ‘she’s showing too much skin’ or ‘she stole him away from her’ thoughts that have been instilled within me and replace them with my own that I know are the ones I truly believe.

And lastly, feminism to me is not perfect. It can’t be. It is a human movement and humans are not perfect, and we have thoughts that betray us and we forget to listen to others. There is always something to learn and an area in which to improve. And it’s important to remember that even if you feel like the worst feminist EVER, if you genuinely believe in gender equality and helping those without a platform being heard, you’re doing great.

All my love,

Hannah

One comment

Leave a Reply

